Not seeing fields in child tables

I am a newbie to Knack but have some experience with MS Access. I have created my objects and fields and the connections from the main table to four child tables (one to many). When I go to the records I am expecting to see all the fields from the connected child tables but I am only seeing the names of the connected tables not their fields. Thank you.

Hi @David5 - as a fellow MS a access developer I have been on the same joinery. :blush:
You mention that you have your main table connected to four child tables.
Just checking, but the connection should be from the child table to the parent.
If your connections are correct you will only see the “display field” in the child connection.
That’s all Knack needs to connect the two together.
When you’re building your views you can then add any of the fields from the child object as connected records.

Display Fields

Combine Connected Records in Views

I’m happy to jump on a Zoom call to see if I can help you get this resolved, send me a direct message on this forum.

https://www.knack.com/experts#expert-directory/expert-details2/605b4a9dca4b85001bddc6da/

1 Like

Thank you Carl! I have not had a chance to get back in and look at this, but I did set mine up from parent to child and not the other way as you said. I will do that and post back. Thanks again.