Equipment Checkout System as a shopping cart

Hello!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR TUNING IN.

I hope everyone’s doing well before I start; this is my first time using Knack and I’ve only coded with traditional languages, so please go easy on me, haha. And please help me, I really want to get this done :sob:

Background Info:

I’m a CS major working for a local community college, helping them improve their equipment rental system. The previous developer built the website so that the user could rent out(check out) ONE piece of equipment at a time.

The way it is written, every item that a user creates is an individual reservation. So, the user has to look up the item and enter the pickup/return date and time for each item reserved, as shown below.

This is OK for 4 or 5 things. But it becomes a time-consuming pain when the user needs to check out 10 mic kits, 10 recorders, 10 boom poles, and 10 cables - going through the reservation process 40 times.

They want the user to enter the items they want and the number of items, then enter the pickup date/time once for the entire batch of stuff, like a shopping cart. Like this site: http://13.58.140.226:3000/

Screenshots of the “code”

My Analysis of the Problem
Okay, so what I THINK I need to do is set up a Quantity Number Field in the Reservation system so that users can enter the quantity of the equipment that they are checking out. And I was trying to connect this field to the “Current Inventory” field in Product Object, but I do not know how to do that in Knack.

Also, how could I add fields in the page so that users can select multiple items at once?

I KNOW this post was very long, and please excuse my wordy sentences. I AM OPEN TO SET UP A ZOOM CALL AND MEET WITH ONE OF YALL IF YOU COULD HELP ME BETTER THAT WAY. JUST LET ME KNOW!!

THANK YOU SO MUCH

Hello Jiwoong,