Share Database tables between APPS

As a Knack Builder I would like to be able to share data in certain objects between apps so that I do not have to maintain duplicate, but the same data in different apps.

Scenario: There are three apps: INVENTORY, CRM and JOBS, each needing "contacts", "suppliers" etc. and in order to not have my apps get too large and unwieldy I have made them in to separate apps for different branches of a large company.

4 Likes

Let me add my vote here. We definitely need shared databases between apps. It's the best way to organize different work streams that may have pieces of information that is shared, but where most of the date is unique to the work stream. It also cleans up all the pages and user roles needed in one single app

3 Likes

This is the most expected feature we are waiting for. Even more then the new builder. On friday I received the information that my app schema is close to its limit and I should think about deleting parts of it or creating different apps. But how to do it efficiently, if I cant share my database with multiple apps? I can't just create a new database to work like this. I need to use a single database for everything, because everything is connected in my app. I'm using a private server and I was told that not even increasing it's power will make a difference in my case. So we really need this features ASAP.

4 Likes

Hello, any update? It´s a feature request since 2014 ... 

2 Likes

New Knack user here. Only been at it a month and already see the great need for sharing records between apps. Otherwise, the app just gets messy.

I see this has been a topic since 2014 with the last Official Comment that I found in 2015. Please Knack, give us some hope!

If would be nice to have the ability to create one user database for authentication and use that database across multiple applications built and be restricted based on roles or departments.

Example: