'Multiple level' search function

Hi,

I wonder if anyone has had the same issue here. I am trying to add a search field which is defined by a selection and has multiple levels. So on page load, there is a keyword search box, then underneath a first choice, which defines and opens the second choice where multiple choices can be selected then a search performed.

e.g.
Multiple choice from selection of 20 (one selection made)
I

Choice made in first selections defines which list opens next (of 20 lists), multiple choice option and can choose up to 5.

I

This is turn is the final selection and records are searched by these parameters.

Is this a possiblity in Knack or is this a front-end issue/API? I must admit I am very new to database building/web design so apologies if this is the wrong place to ask a question such as this. I will be seeking professional help (!) with building more complex aspects so if it is an advanced function that would be good to know anyway.

This is the closest I have found in the forum but can’t seem to find the ‘edit input’ step.

http://helpdesk.knackhq.com/support/discussions/topics/5000011187

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Joanna

Joanna,

I think the knack team has been working on it. I am not sure if they will come up with something soon. I am sure it should be poss in Jquery/js but it will require work. As far as I am concerned I did not investigated this further.

Hi Stevan,

Thanks for such a quick response!

Yes that is what I’m referring to - do you know whether this is possible to create by using javascript/api/any other means - it’s quite critical to my database to allow this function.

Thanks again,
Joanna

Hi Joanna,

That 's definitely the right place to ask this kind of question!