HTML in Text Formula Field

I am a complete novice at HTML but am attempting to create a table in a text formula field. I’m able to assign a hex color to each field and pull in the desired fields’ data. But…I can’t seem to get the cell/column width to be what I want. Ideally, I want to define the first two columns at about 20% each and have the incoming data be aligned left within the cell, then the third column at 60% width with its data aligned left within the cell.

Any suggestions how this is done? I’ll attach screen shots showing the code and the result as it stands now.

This is how it looks with the given code…

Hi Matthew1,

The reason for your columns coming out mis-aligned is that each text formula field is it’s own table, and an HTML table’s behaviour is to automatically resize its columns to fit the content of each table; hence the varying widths.

The way to fix this is to ensure your table is firstly set to 100% width, and then for each column to be given a size, which can be done in % or pixels (e.g. 20% or 250px).

I have adjusted your code to show you both how to control the widths on each column as well as showing you how to change the text alignment, which I set the second column to center.

2 Likes

Thanks for taking a look at the code, Darryn! Much appreciated. I popped in that code and in place of “Materials” and the other text I put the fields that need to get dragged into this table. But…when put into Knack it gives me a “URI Malformed” error. However the code works fine in an HTML editor.
Any idea why Knack doesn’t like the code even though an HTML editor is fine with it all?

Here is the exact code I currently have in there:

Matthew, it appears the Text Formula does not like the percent (%) symbol and there doesn’t seem to be a means around it within Knack (what is referred to as escaping special characters).

I didn’t want to over complicate the solution for you, but you really have a couple options to tackle the problem: