How to control child modals triggered by "add a new option"?

I’m pretty new to Knack (three days as of today), but I have various objects which I have enabled “add a new option” on. When I, or a user, clicks on the “add a new option” I see a modal popup allowing me to populate SOME of the fields of that object. I don’t seem to have any ability to control which fields are displayed on this modal for an object, nor do I seem to have any ability to control what fields are labeled. It’s bizarre.

I would expect these “child” pages to show up below their “parent” pages (as others do), but I don’t see them. Is this because I’m on the trial plan? Is there somewhere else to find them? Or some setting I’m missing? Because it’s really hamstringing me to be unable to edit and modify the child pages which display as a result of clicking on “add a new option.”

Help, please!

Hi @Abey - welcome to Knack :grinning:.
If you’ve not found the knowledgeable article the below may help further.
I’m not sure if you are getting confused between adding a new record rather than a new option. :thinking:
The “add new option” simply gives you the ability, from the live app, to add additional items to either a Multichoice field or a connected object. In certain cases this can be helpful. However, a word of caution, as you can end up with the same or very similar items being added by different users on a multichoice field. If you are using a connected object you can make the field unique so this avoids the exact same option being added twice. However, as we are all dealing with humans, it’s still possible to have “banana”, “bannana” or “bananna” in the same list as these are all unique but spelt differently.

Controlling options in a drop down can be very important if you want to aggregate the data for reporting or do searches on the data at a later date.

The above “banana” example would require three or more queries to find all the results.