Expand truncated text for paragraph text fields to include rich text fields

- Properly truncate allthethings
- Better expand/contract functionality
- Give appropriate real estate in tables to text blobs; prevent tall, thin text columns
- Prevent garbage white space
---
- Column collapsing
- Better inline editing (no popover)
- Live updating data

As a Builder, I would like to be able to display File/URL/Rich Text fields with a truncate option like is currently available on Paragraph Text fields.

Eg. copyoftestno41loopmonitoringofemergencystopsofthrustersandpropellersmaintdoc1943331a1.txt or http://www.copyoftestno41loopmonitoringofemergency... does not allow for custom table widths to force wrap or truncate the URL for display. (Like is available for paragraph text.)

https://knack.zendesk.com/agent/tickets/41866

Great, thanks!

I'm sorry, Craig. It has been awhile since I played in the world of CSS. I see you have limited your CSS to a specific view using CSS. You can also limit your CSS to a specific scene as well. For example:

#kn-scene_94 td.field_210.cell-edit > * {
overflow: auto;
overflow-wrap: break-word;
width: inherit;
max-height: 200px;
}

Thanks Robert.

Nice! That would have been my suggestion. I don't think we can restrict CSS to a scene unless we use JavaScript to apply the CSS upon scene render, which is a little more complicated to explain. But we can definitely restrict it to a view like you have done using CSS only. In my experience, restricting the CSS to a view is much easier.

- EDIT:

I was wrong. You can limit to a specific scene by using the Element ID. For example: #kn-scene_94

I sorted this by adding the view in the first line:

#view_181 td.field_17.cell-edit > * { 

Robert, is it possible to restrict this code only to apply to a certain scene? 

I have the same field in several different tables, but only want one of them to have a limited row height.

This is fantastic thanks Robert! Works great.