Dropdown menu great, but is it possible to highlight that menu tab?

Hi,
As my app gets more complicated, I am starting to us dropdown menus (which are great by the way!) to declutter the main menu.

My question is, when a user is in a page that is under that menu, the menu tab is not highlighted. Am I overlooking something or is that as designed?

Example Screenshots

For example, here I am in the change requests page, under settings menu;

It would be more consistent with my other tabs, if I had a way of highlighting that menu tab, like my other tabs are;

With more and more of my pages being nested under a menu, a highlighted menu tab would help users navigate.

Any ideas or guidance on this would be greatly appreciated.

I’d guess this could be achieved with CSS but I’m not a coder :man_shrugging: - If no one jumps on this thread, there are a few chaps I could highly recommend.

You can contact via the expert network.

https://knackhq.knack.com/expert-network#expert-directory/

They are excellent CSS and JavaScript developers:

Sunny Singla (S&T Consultancy - India :india: )
Johnny Parsons (KnackMods - U.K. :uk: )
Ian Crowe (Knack Pros - USA :us: )

2 Likes

Thanks Carl - I was not even aware of the directory, awesome.

I was close with CSS, for example this is how I format my active tabs;

Current css for active tabs

/* active tab and icons */
#app-menu-list > li.is-active > a { background-color: rgb(239, 241, 243); padding-bottom: 7px !important; margin-bottom: 0px !important; font-size: 100%; font-weight: bolder;
border-style: solid; border-top-width: 1px; border-left-width: 1px; border-right-width: 1px; border-color: #bcbcbc; }
#app-menu-list > li.is-active > a > span > i {color: #af2d2d; }

My challenge is working out how to tell the tab to be the active tab when I am on a page within that menu. Sort of hoped it would be automatically done by the menu if a page was called from it.