Deleting fields that's being used in record rules

I have an app that's become quite big and with a lot of objects and fields. The interface also has a lot of pages, forms, etc etc.

This was the app I started learning Knack with, and so a consequence of that is that it's not very "clean". Thats why I want to clean it up by deleting fields that are not in use any more.

Previous experiences with deleting fields have resulted in unpleasant results. Spesifically, if a form's records rules contains the field that is deleted, it seems to not delete the record rule, but change the deleted field to a random field in the object.

So now I am afraid to "clean up" my app (deleting fields I'm not going to use any more), in case they are still in use in a form's record rules.

Can anyone confirm if this is still an issue? And if it is, maybe there is some way to circumvent this?

Thanks Brad!

I'll try it now. A bit frightened, as I haven't been working on the app for a while and so I don't have the structure fresh in mind. But the app def. needs cleaning, so I'm going in. :P

In a similar position with two old apps here (going well BTW) that wouldn't be described as 'clean' either but that's function ahead of other priorities!

Used to be a problem with form rules, but I just performed a quick test in a test app with these results:

• Added a new field to an object.
  • Added the field to a pre-existing form record rule to set a value to that field.
  • Then deleted the field from the object.
  • Found Knack had removed the field from the record rule automatically without changing the remainder of the record rule.

I haven't tested with more complex fields like connections but it seems the mechanism to make it work cleanly is there.

Perhaps look at doing this to get started and avoid problems:

1. Start with a very redundant and simple field to delete first, having an idea which forms that would impact so you can list them, delete and check them again.