Sum of total based on checkboxes marked

I send quotes to clients with my knack database. Each quote has many service options the client can chose. What I need is that: when Client selects a checkbox for each service he wants, then the total field at the bottom would update the quote total based on the checkboxes marked. This would be done in real time, without having to submit a form or click any buttons for the Total field to update. Do I need custom code for that? It sounds simple to me, maybe there’s an easy way to do it . Any insights?

As a non coder I can tell you it will be a code based solution :man_technologist::+1:

Hi @BrunaRego70476, I like a nice challenge like this!
The method below listens for any checkboxes being selected in the Service(s) field and updates the Total price field with the new sum.
quotation-services

Requirements

• A Services table (object) with the below fields:

• Service name (short text)
    • Price (currency)
    • Service / price (text formula), with formula {Service name} ({Price}) formula. This should also be set as the display field for the Services table
      Here is an example set of Service records:
  • A Quotations table with the below fields at minimum:

• Service(s) (connection), with a many-to-many relationship to the Services table (field_yy)
    • Total price (currency) (field_zz)
  • A form to add a new Quotation (view_xx).

Solution

1. Insert the following code into your Knack JavaScript editor:
$(document).on('knack-view-render.view_xx', function(event, view, record) {

const connectionFieldKey = "field_yy"; // Services connection field
  const totalFieldKey = "field_zz"; // Total price field
  const connectionFieldControl = $(`#${view.key} #kn-input-${connectionFieldKey}`);

$(`#${totalFieldKey}`).prop("disabled", true); // Disable the total field;

// Listen for any checkbox being changed
  connectionFieldControl.find('input[type=checkbox]').change(function() {
    calculateTotal();
  });