CORS violations on API calls?

Hey, I’m a novice developer trying to work with a database through JavaScript.
I’m trying to find a way to use the API to search/create/update Records without incurring a CORS violation.
It seems like everyone is discussing this as if it isn’t an issue and yet I get intermittent CORS errors on any AJAX calls I make. This code is being run by any users logged into our application and has to be able to run client-side. I’d give examples but I’d rather not accidentally expose confidential information.

Is there some way to interact with the API simply through the builder’s JavaScript integration that I’m just not seeing? It feels like the Application ID and API Key ought to be enough to allow unhindered access.

Hi Zack

Have you looked at view based API calls?

You can find more info here

Using view based request means you do not need (and I’d advise against using) object based requests which expose your API key.

Take a look and let me know if you need any further help.

Craig

1 Like

I have looked into this, however, I’m trying to make more specific uses of the data such as populating PDFs and updating multiple records with a custom form. I don’t think I can accomplish this with the built in view-based implementation. At least I don’t think so?

When you say custom forms what are you using to create the custom forms?

Are you looking to integrate an external app with Knack?

There is also Make/Integromat that is excellent for doing those jobs that knack can’t.

Any other info you can provide.

We had all sorts of issues working with API when we started with Knack so hopefully I can help.

Craig

I’m just injecting an HTML form into the page with JavaScript. The form itself has fields that vary based on information from the database so it couldn’t just be something static. I had hoped to be able to update multiple fields at once rather than using multiple pages to accomplish the same feat.

Hi Zack