Auto-Increment Field - Creating Duplicates!

Hi -

I’m relatively new to Knack (a few weeks in now). I’m using an auto-increment field to add a Serial Number to an object.

Knack is issuing duplicate serial numbers for this field on many records. Per the definition of the field, this appears to be impossible but it is absolutely happening.

I have 1750 records in this object, and 198 of them have duplicate SNs. I should also note that there are no SNs that are repeated more than once. (That is, there aren’t 3, 4, 5+ copies of any serial number.)

Any thoughts/suggestions?

Thanks,
-Matt

@MattC - you state that you have duplicate serial numbers, I presume this is because the serial number is concatenated with the auto increment?
If so, raise a ticket to support@knack.com for them to investigate. It should not be possible to have duplicate auto increment values.

Thanks Carl. I’ve submitted a ticket.

Not quite sure what you mean regarding the serial number being concatenated with the auto increment…?

I’m not sure what you mean by serial numbers? Are these numbers you are creating by joining (concatenating) the auto increment with another string from another field.
For example, if you have a Text Formula field you can join the auto increment to another field creating another type of unique reference like a PO number, membership number etc.
That’s what I was referring to about concatenating the auto increment field with another. :blush:

I am not sure but I am expecting the same problem — and I think I know what to blame (well, if the problem actually happens).