What I've learnt in one week of javascript dabbling

Disclaimer: I'm very new to javascript with no computer science background - which is why I'm using low-code database softwares like Knack.. So this post probably contains lessons that might waste a couple mins of your time lol,, but I'm hoping to share some tidbits (and hopefully get some basic ones in return) to grow our collective knowledge on this.

Anyway, I've been trying to delve deeper into javascript lately, and these are a few things i've learnt along the way. Hopefully it saves someone some grief out there. Apologies if it's already in the documentation, but it wasn't always that obvious to me how to do it initially. And do let me know if there are mistakes, or if you have more to contribute below.

1. Finally got autofocus cursor on a field to work

Found this solution in a forum post here somewhere (sorry I forgot where the original post is), but what I didn't realise is that I need to set the viewid to the very last view that's rendered on the page for it to work properly.

So if example on a page, you have 3 views, e.g.

1. a details view called view_1
  2. a form view called view_2, <-- and this contains field_11 which you want to focus cursor on
  3. a table view called view_3

Then this should work:

var viewId = "view_2";     //this is the view where the autofocus field is in (won't need this here actually)
var lastviewId = "view_3"; // this is the last view on the page
var fieldId = "field_11";

$(document).on('knack-view-render.view_' + lastviewId, function (event, view, data) { //make sure to use the last view on the page, e.g. view_3
$("#" + fieldId).focus(); //set focus
});

If you don't fancy keeping things tidier with the viewId and fieldId variables, then writing the below should be equivalent to the above:

$(document).on('knack-view-render.view_3', function (event, view, data) {   //make sure to use the last view on the page, e.g. view_3
$("#field_11").focus(); //set focus
});