Extracting "From" and "To" Values in single Date/Time field

As a Knack Builder, I would like to be able to extract single parts from a Date/Time fields so that I can use (and display) those individual components on particular views.

Scenario: Currently this takes many extractions and workarounds to get this to be set up.

If the “from” date value is after today, then Job is “PENDING.”
If the “from” date value is on/before today AND the “to” date value is after today, then Job is “IN PROGRESS.”
If the “to” date value is before today, then Job is “COMPLETE.”
Also: Currently it’s not possible to use the text formula function formatDate to extract end dates/times and this makes this function difficult to use on all date/time field setups.

Lucas - good solve.

1 Like

Hi all,

I agree that this would be a helpful feature. I have the same problem.

Christopher, thanks for the workaround, I'd been trying to do something similar without success for a while.

When I tried your workaround, I ran into two problems:

1. I want my user to enter dates in Australian format (DD/MM/YYYY) and this caused issues when converting the text formula of start time (field: "extract start time" and "extract end time"), back into a date/time field, because it was reading my Australian date as American (MM/DD/YYYY).

2. In the original date/time field, if the end time is on a different date, the text formulas don't work. This is because, when start time and end time are on the SAME day it displays as this: "01/01/2017 09:00 to 17:00" however when start time and end time are on DIFFERENT days it displays as this: "01/01/2017 09:00 to 02/01/2017 09:00".

For anyone who runs into the same problems, click here for my solution

Hi Stephen,

Thanks for posting this.

I am in full agreeance with you- this would be a very helpful feature.